Gaming isn’t my hobby. It’s my lifestyle.

Gaming isn’t my hobby. It’s my lifestyle.

You’ve probably heard me say that a lot. It’s pretty much my elevator pitch for explaining my YouTube channel.

But that idea, that philosophy, has felt more true to me this week than ever before.

It’s not that I’m just passionate about the gaming medium — it’s defined the paths I’ve chosen for my career and pursuits.

I consider it hugely responsible for my career in video making, as a writer, and in the friendships I’ve made over the past year.

This week I was asked to give a talk in front of a large group marketing professionals, commercial video makers, and organization leaders in the Rochester, NY area about the success and impact I’ve had making videos for a newspaper publication, local businesses and companies, and for my own social media and YouTube channel.

image

I don’t come from their background. I didn’t come from the world of marketing they likely did. So for me, standing in front of room filled with business professionals, and showing them videos of me talking about video games, making horrible Christmas cookies, and walking into signs was actually was extremely liberating, rather than massively intimidating.

giphy

I told my story on how I started making videos on a cellphone, and then eventually started a channel to not only share my love for games, but to build my skills as a video storyteller and host.

And something that really struck me in that moment, was the massive importance of video games in my personal journey, and the importance it continues to have in what I choose to do. Now, of course, it was me, first-and-foremost, that picked up a camera and made the plunge into exposing my true inner self. I know that. But it was video games that enabled me, and gave me something to share; something to think about; and a feeling I wanted to express.

It’s those videos I made about video games that got me attention, and introduced to me people who were interested in working with me, and also brought me friendships with people around the planet.

Friendships with other YouTubers like Буковски from Russia (who also took the time to dub over one of my videos in Russian… I’m still blown away by it).

Or Nicholas Gregrio

And French YouTuber ACEKID

Sadly, I’m not bilingual, but we still remain to be involved in each other’s communities. Also, I don’t know what it is, but I love watching Dmitry’s (Буковски) and Julia’s (ACEKID) channels, despite the language barrier. I love seeing their visual approach, and how their unique personalities styles show through. And though there’s a language barrier, there’s still common ground in what we love and what we do through our channels. We’re all just trying to connect with others.

p1044389

Later in the week, I met up with Rob Mostyn — someone who I’ve written about professionally, and also have made videos about on my own YouTube channel. Rob made the game A Small Robot Story. He’s also the founder of Roc Game Dev here in Rochester.

I initially crossed paths with Rob when I was reporting on a story based on Second Avenue Learning (a local game studio here). Then, I ended up writing several stories on him and the local game industry. (In fact, Rob was among the first people that I sought out when I decided I was first starting my YouTube channel.)

Anyway, we met up for coffee and talked about some top secret stuff, and then for the remaining 30 minutes just gushed over games we were playing. We shared experiences with games we had recently played, and how they resonated with us. He told me about Night in the Woods and I talked about Kentucky Route Zero, and then Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice (I could talk about that game for days).

On my walk back home, all I could think about was the events of this week: the talk I gave; the conversations I had; the videos I was making (both as a freelancer and a YouTuber); and so on. It all aligned and connected back to my passion for the gaming medium.

I’d say “games are my lifestyle” but not always could I express what I meant by that. But now, I can define that by the friendships I’ve made, and the professional life I’ve come into, and how without that initial love of the medium, I may not have any of those things now.

There was a time in my life where I didn’t express and flaunt this passion the way I do now. It has always been a defining factor in who I am, but still, I kept it near and dear, and only really opened up about it sporadically. But the moment I began to own it, and share it, things just seemed to make sense for me in a way I had trouble seeing before.

 

All that said, Rochester is on the cusp of a winter storm with the expectation of 12-20 inches of snow. Juliana and I have already made the deliberate plan to hibernate through it, and just play videos games.

I don’t know what’s on the list for this weekend in gaming, but, I can feel the forces of Tamriel calling my name…

1 Comment

Leave a comment